The National Curriculum

From September 2014 there will be a new National Curriculum for Primary Schools. The children who are in Year 2 and Year 6 will still follow the old National Curriculum for the academic year 2014-2015 in English, Maths and Science, but all the other classes will need to follow the new one from September 2014.

The changes affect all curriculum areas with children expected to reach higher standards in Maths and English.

The English Curriculum

There is an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language. The curriculum is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) and two-yearly in Key Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4 and Years 5 and 6). There is specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation.  We use Letters and Sounds to teach Phonics and books from a range of reading schemes to teach reading, e.g. Rapid, Pearson Bug Club, Rigby Star, Collins Big Cat.

The Maths Curriculum

The main areas in the new Mathematics curriculum number (place value, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and fractions including decimals and percentages), measurement, geometry (properties of shapes andposition and direction), statistics, ratio, proportion and algebra. Every year group has its own programme of study detailing what the children should be able to achieve in each area.

The Science Curriculum

The new curriculum for Science puts a greater focus on acquiring scientific knowledge, and less emphasis on developing scientific skills and understanding.


There are significant changes in the curriculum for History. In Key Stage 1 children will learn about the lives of significant people. In Key Stage 2 there will be an emphasis on developing chronology with the children studying History up to 1066. There will also be special studies which will extend their knowledge and understanding beyond 1066.


Another area of the curriculum which is set to change a great deal is Computing. The emphasis will be on children being able to use and understand programming, develop their digital literacy as well as their understanding of safe internet use.


In addition to changes in the curriculum, there will also be changes in the systems of assessment. The current system of levels will be removed. From September 2014 Schools will be developing new systems of assessments to run alongside the new expectations in each subject. Schools will continue to provide regular information to parents.

The programmes of study for each subject area can be found on:

Student Login